Living the Questions

french-squiggle-2-heart[1]Recently I have heard a similar query from several students and a couple of friends as well. It goes something like this:

“I just don’t know what I am doing right now. It
        seems like there is something I  should do but I am
        overwhelmed trying to figure it out”
And
“How can I figure out what I want in my life when I
        don’t have any time to even think about it?”

I get it. I have had these same questions. But the answers did not come by finding the answers…they came by looking deeply at the questions themselves and slowly understanding why the questions were even present. Transformation from overwhelm to calm came with living the questions and making incremental changes in how I was, well, living. I still don’t know the answer to the question “what is my purpose” in a clearly articulated way….but the question of purpose is inspiring every moment.

I remembered Rilke this morning; he said:

                                       “Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love
                                         the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are                                            now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not now seek the answers,                                            which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live                                                them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now.                                              Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some                                         distant day into the answer.”                                  Rainer Maria Rilke

What might happen in your life if you allowed the questions to be unanswered and simply lived them each day?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

